Joint Policing Committee

Joint Policing Committees operate in a manner that offers an opportunity to develop greater consultation, cooperation and accountability between An Garda Síochana, Local Authorities and elected local representatives, with the participation of the community and voluntary sector, on the management of policing and crime issues. Each of the partners involved in JPCs has its own distinct perspective and inputs to offer, along with its own responsibilities in ensuring that society's needs are effectively met to maintain safe and secure communities.

In accordance with the Guidelines, the Joint Policing Committee will consist of 28 members, i.e. 13 elected members of the Council, Oireachtas members, 2 Local Authority Officials, 2 nominees of the Garda Commissioner, and 6 Community nominees.


Local Authority Elected Members 

  • Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady, Chairperson
  • Councillor Eamon Scanlon
  • Councillor Paul Taylor
  • Councillor Jerry Lundy
  • Councillor Martin Baker
  • Councillor Hubert Keaney
  • Councillor Dara Mulvey, Vice Chairperson
  • Councillor Marie Casserly
  • Councillor Thomas Healy
  • Councillor Gino O’Boyle
  • Councillor Margaret Gormley
  • Councillor Michael Clarke
  • Councillor Sean MacManus 

Oireachtas Elected Members 

  • Senator Marc Mac Sharry - Fianna Fáil
  • Senator Susan O’Keefe - The Labour Party
  • Deputy Tony McLoughlin TD - Fine Gael 

Local Authority Official members 

  • Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive
  • Margaret McConnell, Senior Executive Officer 

An Garda Síochána members 

  • Chief Superintendent Clancy
  • Superintendent Murray

PPN Community Members

  • Vanessa Clarke
  • David Tuffy
  • Patrick Benson
  • Tom Mc Gettrick
  • Pat Conway
  • Alan Mc Menamin
Joint Policing Committee Members
Councillor Sean MacManus, Chairperson 11 The Green, Ocean Links, Strandhill, Co. Sligo Local Government
Councillor Marie Casserly Streedagh, Grange, Co. Sligo Local Government
Councillor Hubert Keaney Drum Road, Rathcormac, Co. Sligo Local Government
Councillor Seamus Kilgannon 80 Rathedmond, Sligo Local Government
Councillor Sinead Maguire 29 The Plains, Strandhill, Co. Sligo Local Government
Councillor Tom MacSharry Teeling Street, Sligo Local Government
Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady 1 The Orchard, Kevinsfort, Sligo Local Government
Councillor Paul Taylor 17 Cluain Dara, Gurteen, Co. Sligo Local Government
Paul Keyes Sligo Chamber of Commerce, 16 Quay Street, Sligo Business/Employers    
Anthony McCormack SIPTU, Hanson Retail Park, Cleveragh, Sligo Trade Union
Gerard Queenan Cabra, Rathlee, Via Easkey, Co. Sligo Agricultural/Farming  087 1358056
Sue Mahon 44 Cranmore Drive, Sligo Community/Voluntary 

086 4453465

Rosaleen Doonan The Carers Association, Castle House, Castle Street, Sligo Social Inclusion

087 4190342