Minutes 2021

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of The Borough District of Sligo held on Monday 28th June 2021 at 10.00 a.m. in The Council Chamber, County Hall, Riverside, Sligo


  • Councillor Declan Bree
  • Councillor Arthur Gibbons
  • Councillor Tom MacSharry
  • Councillor Sinéad Maguire
  • Councillor Gino O’Boyle
  • Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady (Mayor)



  • Mr. Tom Kilfeather, Acting Chief Executive
  • Mr. John Moran, Acting Director of Services (virtually)
  • Mr. Kevin Colreavy, Administrative Officer
  • Ms. Aine Carr, Staff Officer
  • Mr. Geraldine Flanagan, Clerical Officer
  • Mr. Jimmy O’Brien, A/HIS



  • Celine Gibbons (wife of Arthur Gibbons)
  • Sean MacManus, Sinn Fein
  • Stephen Conway, Sinn Fein
  • Charlie Brady, photographer



Before the meeting got underway, the Mayor, Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady thanked her family for the support during her term as Mayor. She acknowledged the role of front line workers during Covid19 and noted that additional health spending needed to be maintained.  She looked forward to better days with the recent funding announcements for Sligo Town Centre, the Sligo 2030 Vision and the Masterplan for Sligo Rovers.



The Members congratulated outgoing Mayor, Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady on a successful year in office and wished her well in the future, describing her as “having dealt with a substantial body of work” in a “fair and balanced manner”. Mr. Kilfeather thanked the Mayor on behalf of the staff for the way she carried out her role. 

Mayor O’Grady thanked the Council staff, in particular Kevin Colreavy and Geraldine Flanagan, for their co-operation throughout the year.

It was then:

Proposed by Councillor D. Bree
Seconded by Councillor R. O’Grady


“To elect Councillor Arthur Gibbons as Mayor of the Borough District of Sligo”.

Councillor Maguire congratulated Mayor Gibbons on his election and asked if the D’Honte System is in place.

Councillor O’Grady confirmed that this was the case.

Councillor Gibbons assumed the position of Chair and addressed the meeting stating that he was honoured and proud to be elected as Mayor and looks forward to working with his colleagues in the year ahead.  He thanked his proposer and seconder for their support. He also thanked his wife Celine, Former Mayor Sean MacManus and Stephen Conway, Chair of Sinn Fein in Sligo who were present in the chamber. He highlighted the negative impact of local government reform in 2014, dissolving borough councils and impacting service delivery. He asked all members to speak to their parties about reinstating borough and town councils.

In concluding, the new Mayor outlined his intention to meet with all community and voluntary groups and to use his time as Mayor to make the Sligo Strandhill Borough area access friendly.



Proposed by Councillor T. MacSharry
Seconded by Councillor A. Gibbons


“To elect Councillor Gino O’Boyle as Deputy Mayor of the Borough District of Sligo”.

Councillor Gino O’Boyle gladly accepted the position of Deputy Mayor and looks forward to working alongside Mayor Gibbons in the year ahead.

The Chief Executive joined Members in congratulating Councillor Gibbons and Councillor O’Boyle in their respective roles and assured them of the Executive’s support going forward. 


The business of the meeting concluded at 10.35 a.m.



Meeting Date 28/06/2021