Minutes 2020

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of The Borough District of Sligo held on Friday 19th June 2020 at 10.00 a.m. in The Council Chamber, County Hall, Riverside, Sligo


  • Councillor Declan Bree
  • Councillor Arthur Gibbons
  • Councillor Tom MacSharry
  • Councillor Sinéad Maguire
  • Councillor Gino O’Boyle (Mayor)
  • Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady



  • Mr. Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive
  • Mr. Kevin Colreavy, Administrative Officer
  • Ms. Clodagh Quinn, Staff Officer



Before the meeting got underway, the Mayor, Councillor Gino O’Boyle proposed that a minute’s silence be observed as a mark of respect to the late Detective Garda Colm Horkan (R.I.P.) who had tragically lost his life in the line of duty earlier in the week.  The proposal was seconded by Councillor Tom MacSharry.



The Members congratulated outgoing Mayor, Councillor Gino O’Boyle on a successful year in office and wished him well in the future, describing him as “hard working”, “committed” and “extremely fair”.  His opening of the Mayor’s Parlour in City Hall to various charitable organisations was particularly highlighted.

Mayor O’Boyle described his tenure as an “honour” and thanked the Council staff for their co-operation throughout the year.

It was then:

Proposed by Councillor T. MacSharry
Seconded by Councillor D. Bree


“To elect Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady as Mayor of the Borough District of Sligo”.

Councillor O’Grady assumed the position of Chair and addressed the meeting stating that it was an honour and privilege to be elected as Mayor and looks forward to working with her colleagues in the year ahead.  She thanked her proposer and seconder for their support and went on to acknowledge the significant challenges facing Local Government in the current climate.  She highlighted the infrastructural projects currently underway in Sligo and complimented the Council on the social housing developments under construction also.

In concluding, the new Mayor paid tribute to the frontline workers who continue to work tirelessly throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.  She also thanked her husband and family for their ongoing support, many of whom were present in the Chamber.



Proposed by Councillor D. Bree
Seconded by Councillor T. MacSharry


“To elect Councillor Arthur Gibbons as Deputy Mayor of the Borough District of Sligo”.

Councillor Arthur Gibbons gladly accepted the position of Deputy Mayor and looks forward to working alongside Mayor O’Grady in the year ahead.

The Chief Executive joined Members in congratulating Councillor O’Grady and Councillor Gibbons in their respective roles and assured them of the Executive’s support going forward. 



The business of the meeting concluded at 10.35 a.m.

Meeting Date 19/06/2020