Minutes 2020

Minutes of meeting of The Borough District of Sligo held on Monday 17th February 2020 at 10.00 a.m. in The Council Chamber, County Hall, Riverside, Sligo


  • Councillor Declan Bree
  • Councillor Gino O’Boyle (Mayor)
  • Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady



  • Ms. Marie Whelan, Head of Finance
  • Mr. Tom Kilfeather, Director of Services
  • Ms. Margaret McConnell, A/Director of Services
  • Mr. Joe Murphy, Senior Executive Officer
  • Mr. Tom Brennan, Senior Engineer
  • Mr. Declan Noone, A/Senior Executive Engineer
  • Mr. Conor McCann, Executive Engineer
  • Ms. Pauline Lavelle, Staff Officer
  • Ms. Clodagh Quinn, Staff Officer



  • Mr. Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive
  • Councillor Chris MacManus
  • Councillor Tom MacSharry
  • Councillor Sinéad Maguire



The Mayor, Councillor Gino O’Boyle, presided and welcomed those present to the meeting.



At the outset, Ms. Marie Whelan, Head of Finance and Mr. Tom Kilfeather, Director of Services, introduced the Item, explaining to Members that the Schedule of Municipal District Works is being presented at this time following the adoption of the budget and receipt of allocations from the Department of Transport, Tourism & Sport and Transport Infrastructure Ireland (T.I.I.).  

Before handing over to Mr. Tom Brennan, Senior Engineer, Mr. Kilfeather informed Members that the main changes to the Roadworks Programme for the current year include the addition of a third Municipal District (Sligo-Drumcliff) and the provision of a €300,000 Footpath Improvement Scheme for the County.

Mr. Brennan then took Members through the proposed programme of works which had been circulated in advance of the meeting.  The programme specified the allocation of funding received, together with a detailed breakdown of all planned expenditure for the year in relation to specific projects and categorised headings and outlined each individual category that related to Sligo Borough District.

Mr. Brennan reported that approximately €73.7m has been allocated for the improvement/maintenance of the public road network in Co. Sligo.  The key funding agencies consist of T.I.I. (€54.5m), Dept. of Transport, Tourism and Sport (€17.9m) and Sligo County Council (€1.3m).

Members thanked Mr. Brennan and his team for a comprehensive report and indeed for works carried out to date including the extension to Sligo Cemetery.  The provision of the Footpath Improvement Scheme was also welcomed.

In reply to specific queries, Mr. Brennan and Mr. Declan Noone, A/Senior Executive Engineer, replied as follows:

Provision of pedestrian entrance at Tonaphubble side of Sligo Cemetery:

Funds are not available for the above in 2020 but plans remain in place.

Extension of footpath at Cairns Hill (L9215):

Not included in the current Programme however the issue remains on the Road Department’s agenda.

Coastal Protection Works in Strandhill:

Studies and previous protection works have taken place however the situation needs to be re-visited due to the recent frequency of storms.  Protection works in the past have been funded by the OPW. 

O’Boyle Park, Forthill:

Additional signage to be installed to promote better use of the facility.

Maugheraboy Resurfacing Works:

Works have gone to tender and a contractor has been appointed.  It is envisaged that works will commence mid-2020.

It was then:

Proposed by Councillor Declan Bree
Seconded by Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady


“To approve the Schedule of Municipal District Works 2020 – including Draft Roads, Transportation and Infrastructure Programme”.


The business of the meeting concluded at 10.45 a.m.


Meeting Date 17/02/2020