Minutes 2017

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Sligo County Council held on Monday, 19th June, 2017 At 3.00pm in The Council Chamber, County Hall, Riverside, Sligo.


  • Councillor Baker,
  • Councillor Bree,
  • Councillor Casserly,
  • Councillor Clarke,
  • Councillor Gormley,
  • Councillor Henry,
  • Councillor Keaney,
  • Councillor Kilgannon,
  • Councillor Lundy,
  • Councillor Maguire,
  • Councillor MacManus,
  • Councillor MacSharry,
  • Councillor Mulvey,
  • Councillor O’Grady,
  • Councillor Queenan,
  • Councillor Taylor.



  • Apologies were received from Councillor T. Healy and Councillor G. O’Boyle



  • Mr. Ciarán Hayes, Chief Executive
  • Ms. Marie Whelan, Head of Finance
  • Mr. Bartley Gavin, Acting Director of Services
  • Mr. Frank Moylan, Acting Director of Services
  • Mr. Tom Brennan, Acting Director of Services  
  • Mr. Kevin Colreavy, Meetings Administrator
  • Ms. Jo-Anne McGonigle, Assistant Staff Officer




Councillor Keaney thanked the elected Members, the Chief Executive and staff for their support during the year. He also extended his thanks to his wife Christina and family and acknowledged the role of the media attending meetings on a monthly basis.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach said the Members of Sligo County Council have a resolve and commitment to serve the people of the county to the best of their ability. The highlight of the past year was identified by him as being Sligo’s designation as European Volunteering Capital 2017. This commitment to the common good was also evident at the Cathaoirleach’s Award Ceremony. Councillor Keaney outlined the challenge facing the county, including the uncertainty of Brexit.

The Members paid tribute to Councillor Keaney on his term as Cathaoirleach and said he had conducted the meetings in an impartial, fair and reasonable manner. Members also referred to the positive feedback from the Cathaoirleach’s engagements as our ‘First Citizen’ at home and abroad.

The Chief Executive, on his own behalf and on behalf of the Executive, joined with the comments of congratulations and thanks to the outgoing Cathaoirleach.



Proposed by Councillor R. O’Grady
Seconded by Councillor T. MacSharry

“To elect Councillor Seamus Kilgannon as Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.”

As there was only one nomination for the position of Cathaoirleach, Councillor Keaney declared Councillor Seamus Kilgannon unanimously elected.

Councillor Kilgannon took the Chair and, as Cathaoirleach, welcomed his family and guests to the Chamber. In particular, he extended his thanks to Deputy Marc MacSharry, former Councillor Sean MacManus, President of the Irish League of Credit Unions, Mr. Charles Murphy and I. L. C. U. Vice President, Mr. Gerry Thompson.

Among the issues identified by the Cathaoirleach as priorities were the development of our transport infrastructure, including works on the section of the N4 from Collooney-Castlebaldwin which he believes has major implications for all of the north west, and he also hoped to see progress on other major projects such as the N16 and N17 routes, Eastern Bridge and Western by-pass. He stated that there is great potential in key local agencies working together to promote Sligo. Noting that his background is in the area of Education and Training, the Cathaoirleach highlighted the outstanding facilities provided in Sligo. There were significant ambitions outlined in the recent submission to the National Planning Framework, and he commended David Minton and the staff of the Northern & Western Regional Assembly for their progressive work in this area.

Members wished the Cathaoirleach every success in the year ahead.

The Chief Executive joined with the Members in their congratulations to the new Cathaoirleach and assured him of the support of the Executive. Issues identified by the Cathaoirleach join closely with those of the Executive and they would work together to see can they advance those issues for the benefit of Sligo in the coming year.

The Cathaoirleach then indicated that he would deal with the election of a Leas-Cathaoirleach.



Proposed by Councillor P. Taylor
Seconded by Councillor M. Baker

“To elect Councillor Keith Henry as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.”

As there was only one nomination for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach, the Cathaoirleach declared Councillor Keith Henry elected unanimously.



The meeting concluded at 3.45pm


Download  Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 19th June 2017 (PDF) - 17 kbs


Meeting Date 19/06/2017