Election 2019 Results

Election 2019 Results


Following the conclusion of the count at Summerhill College at 2.30am on Monday morning, the following candidates have been elected to Sligo County Council.

Sligo-Drumcliff (Five seats) 

  • Thomas Healy Sinn Fein
  • Marie Casserly Independent
  • Thomas Walsh Fine Gael
  • Donal Gilroy Fianna Fail
  • Tom Fox Fine Gael

 There are three new Councillors in this electoral area

Sligo-Strandhill (six seats) 

  • Councillor Declan Bree, Independents 4 Change
  • Councillor Tom MacSharry Fianna Fail
  • Councillor Rosaleen O Grady Fianna Fail
  • Councillor Sinead Maguire Fine Gael
  • Councillor Chris MacManus Sinn Fein
  • Councillor Gino O Boyle Solidarity People Before Profit 

There are no new Councillors elected in this area

Ballymote-Tubbercurry (Seven seats)

  • Councillor  Paul Taylor Fianna Fail
  • Councillor Dara Mulvey Fine Gael
  • Councillor Gerard Mullaney Fine Gael
  • Councillor Michael Clarke Independent
  • Councillor Joe Queenan Independent
  • Councillor Martin Baker Fianna Fail
  • Council Martin Connolly Fine Gael

There are two new Councillors elected in this area


Ballymote-Tubbercurry   - 24,389

Sligo-Strandhill                 - 16,754

Sligo-Drumcliffe              - 16,154

Total electorate                57, 297

What happens next

The eighteen councillors will formally take their seats at the Annual General Meeting of Sligo County Council which will take place in County Hall at 10.00am on Friday 7th June.

At that meeting the Councillors will elect a Cathaoirleach and set a date for the Annual General meeting of the Municipal Districts. The Councillors will also appoint members to the various statutory bodies.


Count Results from Summerhill College

Sligo Drumcliff Sligo Strandhill Ballymote Tubbercurry